crushing

i
after one day at your side
i lie down on my front
and am broken

ii
love.

“if you can get past the smell of it, the taste is pretty good.
and then you walk,
following it like a season, like spring.”

like bees tapping against an east-facing window,
like running from rains that are yet to show themselves.

iii
you ask me to come as i am
enter your room ungilded, unshimmering.
we meet eye to eye
breathing each other’s breath
because it is not a kiss unless our lips touch.

iv
for you i hold my heart in my hands
(a wet fish muscling its way from my grip)
what could it be to make a heart of paper and wax?
dripping and drying and leaving itself on people and things.
is this it?

v
i want to avoid the feeling i know will follow this,
that it is all going to be behind us one day.

vi
you make me feel as though i am allergic to air
take shallow breaths
i wake up
and still my dreams are only rumours.

Leave a Reply

